Love You Forever

When I became a mom, I understood a new, different kind of love.  Love like I never knew was possible, sometimes when I look at my boy it just overwhelms me.  He is just so perfect.  How is it possible that I helped create that?

Tonight I read a blog post about being a better mom, the author writes about five little things she plans on doing to be a better parent.  Such simple little things but sometimes we forget how important the little things can be.

One of the things is making sure the last thing your children hear from you each night is that you love them.  Each night we all go brush our teeth together and then we have a group hug before Owen goes to bed.  He loves it.  But as I thought about it tonight, I couldn’t quite be sure that each night I say, “I love you.”  Your child can never hear it too much, really they can’t.

When Owen as a baby I would sneak into his room after he was all tucked in and asleep.  I would look in his crib and tell him I loved him.  Every single night.  Then I would whisper to him how proud he made me.  I would tell him specific things like how much his smile warmed my heart or how special it was when he hugged me.  I really loved those moments in the quiet when it was just the two of us.

I know Owen won’t remember our little late night chats.  I know at times he may tire of my I love yous.  One day when he is older he will certainly roll his eyes and say, “Mooooom, enough already.”  It isn’t about him remembering each and every time I say these things to him.  I am trying to create a culture in our home, one in which he will always know he is loved, he is important, he is special.  I hope I am doing a good job.

Good Night Owen, Mommy loves you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love You Forever

  1. Vicki says:

    There may be a lot of uncertainties in Owen’s future, but one thing I’m certain of, is that he will know he is loved. <3

Leave a Reply

